Home Breaking News Burkina Faso re-inaugurates president

Burkina Faso re-inaugurates president

Roch Marc Christian Kaboré - Picture by Koch, MSC through Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Germany license.

Monday, 28 December 2020, Ouagadougou, Republic of Burkina Faso: President Roch Marc Christian Kaboré (born 25 April 1957) was re-sworn into the Burkinabè presidential office  after having the first round of a general election with 57,87% for a second mandate. 

His swearing-in ceremony took place before the Constitutional Council at the Ouaga Sports Palace 2000 with a limited number of participants, and  a shortened duration of one hour in view of the pandemic-related restrictions. 

Amongst the foreign counterparts partaking at the investiture were President Alassane Ouattara – Ivory Coast; President Mahamadou Issoufou – Niger; Marshal Idriss Déby Itno, President of Chad; President Nana Akufo Addo – Ghana;  President Georges Weah – Liberia; President Alpha Condé – Ghinea; President Macky Sall – Senegal; President Faure Gnassingbé – Togo; President Mohamed Ould El-Ghazouani – Mauritania; President Umaro Sissoco Embalo – Guinea Bissau; Prime MinisterMoctar Ouane – Mali, etc. 

During his first presidential mandate President Kaboré spent a lot of his energy fighting against terrorism, improving national security, and he wishes to continue to focus on the latter topics whilst engaging with the political opposition for a ‘national reconciliation. Under his aegis the country fête sixty years as an independent nation since 5 August 1960, when the country was still named High Volta (up to 1984). 

Karobé was inagurated president on 29 December 2015 for his first term. His second term runs until 2025. He longs to the People’s Movement for Progress (MPP) party. 

As head of state he resides at Kosyam Palace, appoints a prime minister and serves as the Grand Master ex officio of the Burkinabè state orders. 

For further information 

Swearing-in ceremony: https://www.facebook.com/Presidence.bf/videos/?ref=page_internal

Presidency of Burkina Faso: https://www.presidencedufaso.bf

Exit mobile version