Home Diplomatic News EU luncheon with focus on health hosted by Slovenia in Germany

EU luncheon with focus on health hosted by Slovenia in Germany

EU luncheon at hosted by Ambassador Franc But (Slovenia) - Picture by Slovenian Embassy in Germany

Tuesday, 31 August 2021, Berlin, Germany: Slovenia’s Ambassador in Germany, Franc But hosted the second meeting of EU Ambassadors in Berlin within the framework of the Slovenian European Council Presidency. 

The luncheon was of particular relevance, for its the guest of honour was Federal Minister of Health Jens Spahn. Hence the main topic on the agenda was a vivid discussion concerning the measures and restrictions surrounding the COVID-19 pandemic, health cooperation amongst EU member states as well as vis-à-vis third parties. Minister Spahn, and the ambassadors exchanged views on possible EU mechanisms in order to prevent, or rather milden the societal effects of future pandemics. 

Discussions with Minister Spahn likewise focused on the current domestic political situation in Germany, and the upcoming federal elections and the other state elections, namely in the capital of Berlin, in Thuringia (early election) as well as Mecklenburg-Western Pomerania. 

The event was organised on the premises of the European Union Representation in Germany located a stone’s throw away from the Brandenburg Gate. 

For further information 

German Federal Ministry of Health: https://www.bundesgesundheitsministerium.de/en/ministry.html

Image courtesy of the Embassy of Slovenia in Germany

From left to right (all personalities with the rank of Ambassador Extraordinary and Plenipotentiary to Germany unless otherwise thus noted): Inga Skujiņa (Latvia); Maria Marinaki (Greece);  Dr. Vanni Xuereb (Malta); Maria Papakyriakou (Cyprus); Ronald van Roeden (The Netherlands); Susanne Hyldelund (Denmark); dr. Györkös Péter (Hungary); Host Franc ButTomáš Kafka (Czechia); German Federal Minister of Health, Jens Spahn; Prof. Dr. Andrzej Przyłębski (Poland); Adriana Stănescu (Romania); Francisco Ribeiro de Menezes (Portugal); Dr. Gordan Bakota (Croatia); Elena Radkova Shekerletova (Bulgaria); Ramūnas Misiulis (Lithuania)

Exit mobile version