Home Diplomatic News Second term for Moussa Faki at AU

Second term for Moussa Faki at AU


Saturday, 6 February 2021, Addis Ababa, Federal Democratic Republic of Ethiopia: The Assembly of Heads of State and Government of the African Union has re-elected Moussa Faki Mahamat from the Republic of Chad, as the African Union Commission Chairperson for another four-year term from 2021-2024.

The election took place during the ongoing 34th Ordinary Session of the Assembly which is being held virtually due to the containment measures instituted as a result of the ongoing Covid-19 pandemic. 

Chairman Faki sought a second term mandate for the position of AUC Chairperson following the end of his first term tenure (2017-2020). The Chairperson of the AU Commission is elected by the Assembly for a four-year term, renewable once. The Chairperson of the AU Commission is the Chief Executive Officer, legal representative of the AU and the Commission’s Chief Accounting Officer. 

Faki will be deputised by Dr. Monique Nsanzabaganwa from Rwanda. Dr. Nsanzabaganwa secured the majority of votes in a highly contested position which saw two other female candidates vying for the post. Dr. Nsanzabaganwa becomes the first female to occupy the position of the Deputy Chairperson.  

The rotating presidency of the AU is currently being held by the Democratic Republic of Congo, and thus by President Felix-Antoine Tshisekedi Tshilombo

For further information 

Exit mobile version