Friday, September 29, 2023

Wagner elected as new Chair of UNESCO-IHE

Must read

DIPLOMAT MAGAZINE “For diplomats, by diplomats” Reaching out the world from the European Union First diplomatic publication based in The Netherlands Founded by members of the diplomatic corps on June 19th, 2013. Diplomat Magazine is inspiring diplomats, civil servants and academics to contribute to a free flow of ideas through an extremely rich diplomatic life, full of exclusive events and cultural exchanges, as well as by exposing profound ideas and political debates in our printed and online editions.

Prof. Iwona Wagner elected as new Chair of UNESCO-IHE Governing Board

Professor Iwona Wagner (Poland) has been elected as the new Chair of the UNESCO-IHE Governing Board during the Board’s bi-annual meeting on 19 and 20 November. Ms. Wagner succeeds Dr. Fritz Holzwarth who was appointed as Rector ad interim of the Institute from 1 November 2015.

Iwona Wagner is Assistant Professor in the Department of Applied Ecology at the University of Lodz and at the International Institute of Polish Academy of Sciences, European Regional Centre for Ecohydrology under the auspices of UNESCO.

The UNESCO-IHE Governing Board is responsible for the programme and activities of UNESCO-IHE and ensures that these contribute to the broader UNESCO policies and strategies established by the General Conference. Iwona Wagner has been a member of the Governing Board since 1 July 2013 and she has been a familiar face at the Institute since 2006. She was involved in the SWITCH project, a major research partnership funded by the European Commission, which looked towards water management in the ‘city of the future’.

Other members of the Governing Board are:

  • Abdin Mohamed Ali Salih, Sudan, University of Khartoum
  • Ahmet Saatci, Turkey, Turkish Water Institute (SUEN)
  • Ali Riza Daemi, Iran, Deputy of Minister for planning and economic affairs at Ministry of energy
  • Avinash C. Tyagi, India, International Commission on Irrigation and Drainage
  • Benedito Braga, Brazil, University of Sao Paulo
  • Gabriel Oteze, Nigeria, University of Benin
  • John Verbakel, The Netherlands, Vice-President Supply Chain, Unilever
  • Louis de Quelerij, The Netherlands, Professor of Civil Engineering TU Delft
  • Michael Mutale, Zambia, Independent Consultant
  • Tineke Huizinga-Heeringa, The Netherlands, International Governing Board Delta Alliance

Representatives of the Director General

  • Blanca Jimenez Cisneros, Mexico, Director of the Division of Water Sciences UNESCO
  • Flavia Schlegel, Switzerland, UNESCO Assistant Director-General for Natural Sciences

For more information: or contact Ruth Webber:

- Advertisement -spot_img

More articles

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest article