Wednesday, August 10, 2022

Malaysian Sovereign elected

Must read

DIPLOMAT MAGAZINE “For diplomats, by diplomats” Reaching out the world from the European Union First diplomatic publication based in The Netherlands Founded by members of the diplomatic corps on June 19th, 2013. Diplomat Magazine is inspiring diplomats, civil servants and academics to contribute to a free flow of ideas through an extremely rich diplomatic life, full of exclusive events and cultural exchanges, as well as by exposing profound ideas and political debates in our printed and online editions.

By Baron Henri Estramant. 

Kuala Lumpur, Federation of Malaysia, 15 October 2016: The 29th Sultan of Kelantan, Sultan Muhammad V was named the soon-to-be 15th Yang di-Pertuan Agong (“Paramount Ruler” or King) by at the 243rd (special) Conference of Rulers held at the Istana Negara (Royal Palace) in Kuala Lumpur. 

Sultan Muhammad V shall take over the federal throne from the current Yang-di Pertuan Agong and Sultan of Kedah, Tuanku Abdul Halim Mu’adzam Shah, who will complete his five-year reign on 12 December 2016,

Meanwhile, The Sultan of Perak,  Nazrin Muizzuddin Shah, 59, will take over from Sultan Muhammad V as the new Deputy Yang di-Pertuan Agong.

In a statement issued in Kuala Lumpur, the Keeper of the Rulers’ Seal, Syed Danial Syed Ahmad, said the appointment shall take effect on 13 December 2016 for a period of five years upon the 15th Agong’s enthronement.

Muhammad V has been Sultan of Kelantan since 13 September 2010.

Sultan Muhammad V is currently the Chancellor of Universiti Malaysia Kelantan (UMK). He is said to be an avid reader as well as a motor-racing enthusiast. He has three younger siblings who are Tengku Mahkota of Kelantan (Crown Prince), Tengku Dr Muhammad Faiz Petra, 42, Tengku Muhammad Fakhry Petra, 38, and Tengku Amalin A’ishah Putri, 32.

The Yang-di Pertuan Agong is Malaysia’s head of state. He is chosen every five years from one of the nine rulers eligible for election forming the Federation of Malaysia encompassing 13 states and three federal territories. Out of the thirteen states, nine are governed by endemic constitutional monarchs.

For further information 

Conference of Malay Rulers:

- Advertisement -spot_img

More articles

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest article