Monday, May 27, 2024

Guillermo Lasso assumes Ecuadorian presidency

Must read

Diplomat Magazine
Diplomat Magazine
DIPLOMAT MAGAZINE “For diplomats, by diplomats” Reaching out the world from the European Union First diplomatic publication based in The Netherlands. Founded by members of the diplomatic corps on June 19th, 2013. "Diplomat Magazine is inspiring diplomats, civil servants and academics to contribute to a free flow of ideas through an extremely rich diplomatic life, full of exclusive events and cultural exchanges, as well as by exposing profound ideas and political debates in our printed and online editions." Dr. Mayelinne De Lara, Publisher

Spanish Foreign Minister Arancha González Laya, HM King Felipe VI of Spain and Ecuadorian President Guillermo Lasso – Picture by Casa de S.M. el Rey

Monday, 24 May 2021, Quito, Republic of Ecuador: The 46th President of Ecuador, Guillermo Lasso Mendoza, was inaugurated as the first centre-right politician to assume the Ecuadorian presidency in nearly two decades. 
President Guillermo Lasso (16 November 1955 in Guayaquil) is a well-known businessman who made a career in politics as Governor of Guayas Province, and subsequently Minister of Economy and Finance. He founded his own political party in 2012, namely ‘Creando Oportunidades‘ (CREO – Creating Opportunities).

As president he is head of state and of government. His presidential tenure lasts for four years, and can be renewed only once by universal suffrage. The President resides at Carondelet Palace. Ecuadorian presidents act as commander-in-chief of the Armed Forces, and appoint cabinet ministers at their volition. 

Su Majestad el Rey durante la interpretación de los Himnos Nacionales de España y Ecuador

Four heads of state as well as eight foreign ministers partook at President Lasso’s inauguration. Amongst the top leaders in attendance were the President of Brazil, Jair Bolsonaro; of Colombia, Iván Duque; of the Dominican Republic, Luis Abinader; and of Haiti, Jovenel Moïse.

The Solemn Ceremony of Transmission of the Presidential Command consisted of the entrance of the National Standard; the interpretation of the National Anthem of the Republic of Ecuador; the allocution of the Speaker of the National Assembly; the swearing in of Mr Guillermo Lasso, as President of Ecuador; the implosion of the Presidential Sash and the Grand Collar of the National Order of Merit; the reading and signing of the Presidential Decree by which  Guillermo Lasso assumed the headship of state; the departure of Mr Lenín Moreno, predecessor in the presidential office.

Thereafter swearing in of Alfredo Borrero, Vice-President of the Republic of Ecuador, took place; the speech of President Guillermo Lasso, President of the Republic of Ecuador; the interpretation of the Anthem to the City of San Francisco de Quito; and the departure of the National Standard.

For further information: 
Presidency of Ecuador:

- Advertisement -spot_img

More articles

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest article