Saturday, December 9, 2023

UAE, Brazil, Ghana, Gabon, Albania to join SC

Must read

Diplomat Magazine
Diplomat Magazine
DIPLOMAT MAGAZINE “For diplomats, by diplomats” Reaching out the world from the European Union First diplomatic publication based in The Netherlands. Founded by members of the diplomatic corps on June 19th, 2013. "Diplomat Magazine is inspiring diplomats, civil servants and academics to contribute to a free flow of ideas through an extremely rich diplomatic life, full of exclusive events and cultural exchanges, as well as by exposing profound ideas and political debates in our printed and online editions." Dr. Mayelinne De Lara, Publisher

In the picture Ambassador Lana Nusseibeh – Picture by UN.

Friday, 11 June 2021, New York City, USA: The 193 states strong UN General Assembly voted upon which five countries shall hold Security Council seats for a two-year term starting on 1 January 2022.

The United Arab Emirates, Albania and Brazil had their seats de facto guaranteed as they were the only candidates from their regions.

Ghana and Gabon are set to take over the two seats reserved for African states. 

Brazil has served on the Security Council ten times, Gabon and Ghana three times each, and the UAE once, between 1986 and 1987. Albania has never served on the council.

The UAE’s candidacy was endorsed by the Arab League in 2012, and by the UN Group of Asia-Pacific nations in 2020.The UAE will replace Tunisia in the Asia-Pacific slot when the mandate begins on 1 January 2022.

Emirati Permanent Representative to the UN, Ambassador Lana Nusseibeh said as per statement that the ‘Emirates would use its seat at the world’s top table to push for women’s rights, fight climate change and terrorism, and reduce tension in the region, including building bridges with Iran.’
The 15-nation council has 10 seats for temporary members but is dominated by its five permanent (P5) members, namely Russia, China, the US, Britain and France. They hold the veto power.

For council resolutions to be adopted, they must be approved by at least nine votes in favour and no vetoes from permanent members. India, Ireland, Kenya, Mexico and Norway are currently represented on the Council pro tempore.  

Each year the General Assembly elects five non-permanent members (out of 10 in total) for a two-year term. In accordance with the General Assembly resolution 1991 (XVIII) of 17 December 1963, the 10 non-permanent seats are distributed on a regional basis as follows: five for African and Asian states; one for the Eastern European States; two for the Latin American and Caribbean States; and two for Western European and other states.

For further information
Permanent Mission of the UAE to the UN:

- Advertisement -spot_img

More articles

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest article