Tuesday, April 16, 2024

Six newly elected ICC judges to be sworn

Must read

Diplomat Magazine
Diplomat Magazinehttp://www.diplomatmagazine.eu
DIPLOMAT MAGAZINE “For diplomats, by diplomats” Reaching out the world from the European Union First diplomatic publication based in The Netherlands. Founded by members of the diplomatic corps on June 19th, 2013. "Diplomat Magazine is inspiring diplomats, civil servants and academics to contribute to a free flow of ideas through an extremely rich diplomatic life, full of exclusive events and cultural exchanges, as well as by exposing profound ideas and political debates in our printed and online editions." Dr. Mayelinne De Lara, Publisher

Six newly elected ICC judges are scheduled to be sworn in on March 8, 2024. A swearing-in ceremony for these judges will take place at 10:30 local time at the seat of the Court in The Hague, Netherlands. The judges, Mr. Keebong Paek (Republic of Korea), Mr. Erdenebalsuren Damdin (Mongolia), Ms. Iulia Motoc (Romania), Mr. Haykel Ben Mahfoudh (Tunisia), Mr. Nicolas Guillou (France), and Ms. Beti Hohler (Slovenia), were elected for nine-year terms during the twenty-second session of the Assembly of States Parties to the Rome Statute in December 2023.

During the ceremony, the newly elected judges will take a public oath, affirming: “I solemnly undertake that I will perform my duties and exercise my powers as a judge of the International Criminal Court honorably, faithfully, impartially, and conscientiously, and that I will respect the confidentiality of investigations and prosecutions and the secrecy of deliberations.”

- Advertisement -spot_img

More articles

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest article